Nothing About Us, Without Us: Placing African women at the centre of conversations about the African agricultural revolution

Posted: August 20, 2015 in Uncategorized

Let us place women at the centre of the Agriculture revolution!

Can? We? Save? Africa?

In October  2014 UN Women with the African Union (AU), IFAD, FAO and WFP co-hosted an exciting regional Sharefair for Rural Women’s Technologies  at the UN Compound in Gigiri, Nairobi- Kenya. The innovations showcased have tremendous potential to improve the lives of African women smallholder farmers.

I got to address the plenary session and focused my attention on African the loud silence of women’s missing voices in the African agricultural sector.  Below is the full text of my speech:

Nothing About Us, Without Us

As a young girl I remember my parents taking me to what was then the Nairobi ‘show’ put together by the Agricultural society of Kenya. I was mesmerised by all the products on offer, the balloons, the toys, and, as always, the junk food.

Those early days going to the ‘show’ bred in me a passion for agriculture that has surprised even my parents. Brought up in…

View original post 1,125 more words

Leave a Reply

